Krav Maga Global Logo Header
KMG Grading System

Hi team,

Today I would like to tell you more about the Krav Maga grading system.

In 1964, Imi began teaching Krav Maga to civilians in military uniform before adopting the traditonal kimono and the belt rank system. The ranks ranged from white to black belt until 1987 when a new rank system replaced the belts, going from Practitioner 1 to Expert 5.

With the introduction of the new ranking system, the kimono was abandoned, and training was conducted in loose pants, t-shirt, and sports shoes. Instructors like Imi stopped wearing belts at this time.

As the system spread around the world, the technical notebook evolved and the symbols of ranks were introduced in the mid-1990s. This new grading system is much more aligned with Krav Maga's origins and the teaching methods used in the Israeli army.

The ranks are divided into 4 categories:

  • Practitioner (P1 to P5): The objective of the P levels is training foundational self-defense against relatively untrained individuals for the more common types of attack that may occur against civilians.
  • Graduate (G1 to G5): The Graduate levels include more challenging situations such as encountering additional kinds of weapons and attacks, trained opponents, or where the situation requires the trainee to engage with opponents rather than escape.
  • Expert (E1 to E5): The expert levels represent the consolidation of the civilian defensive and offensive skills of P & G levels as well as incorporating additional skills from other KMG streams such as law enforcement, military, VIP protection and so on.
  • Master (1 to 3): Master levels are honorary awards recognizing exceptional proficiency, knowledge, and contribution to the system. They are not part of the formal curriculum but acknowledge exceptional achievement and expertise.

Each category contains 5 levels with a specific program and knowledge for each grade. To pass to a higher grade, the student must retake all the grades below this one. For example, someone who is to pass Practitioner 3rd degree must pass the exam with Practitioner 1st degree, 2nd degree... and finally the 3rd degree subject. This methodology has the effect of consolidating the knowledge of the basic techniques.

Finally I want to mention that KMG is releasing KMG 2.0, a completely reviewed system aiming at staying relevant and spreading the best and most updated know how. The reviewed P levels where released in 2021. The G levels where released in 2022 and the E levels remain unreleased at this stage.

Krav Maga Global Logo Footer

Copyright © 2022